If you’re planning on driving in Colorado, it’s important to know the minimum car insurance requirements in Colorado determined by the State that are required to be in place.
If you’re a resident of Colorado and your vehicle is registered here, you’re REQUIRED to carry liability insurance. This type of coverage will provide protection to you if someone is injured or killed as a result of your or someone else’s negligence while driving your car. You must have coverage for bodily injury and property damage, which means that you’ll be financially responsible for any injuries or damages that you or another driver causes while using your vehicle.
To be safe, it’s always recommended that you purchase additional coverage such as under/uninsured motorist coverage as well. This type of plan will pay for damages to you that are caused by someone who isn’t covered by their own insurance policy.
What are Minimum Car Insurance Requirements In Colorado?
In Colorado, the minimum car insurance requirements* are as follows:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death to any one person in an accident;
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death to all persons in any one accident; and
- $15,000 for property damage in any one accident.
*Bicknell Insurance, Inc does not recommend carrying the lowest level of insurance.
What does This Mean For Me?
If you live in Colorado, you need to make sure that you have at least $25,000 of car insurance in case someone is injured due to your actions. Additionally, if you have an accident and multiple people are injured, you will need to have $50,000 of car insurance in order to cover their medical expenses.
What if I Don’t Have The Minimum Car Insurance Requirements In Colorado?
Driving a motor vehicle in Colorado without having met the minimum car insurance requirements is illegal and considered a Class 1 misdemeanor and could include the following penalties for violation:
- up to one year of jail time
- minimum of $500 – $1,000 in fines
- up to 40 hours of community service
- up to four points on your license
- can have driver’s license suspended
- can have vehicle registration revoked
If your driver’s license is suspended, you will also have to pay a reinstatement fee of $40 and will likely be required to file an SR-22 certificate for three years or more which, in addition, will substantially increase your overall auto rates.
By following the guidelines detailed above, you will be well on your way to meeting Colorado’s minimum car insurance requirements (albeit, Bicknell Insurance recommends much higher standards). Don’t run the risk of fines or the suspension of your license or vehicle registrations – get your vehicle insured today by one of the top insurance agencies in NorCo, Bicknell Insurance, Inc.